top of page

Are we in an era of "New Slaves"?

This week I chose the topic "New Slaves." First let's find out what a new slave is. Over the years racism has been one of the top controversies in the United States. Blacks have not forgotten about our ancestors during slavery days. Most whites know this, yet still have not adjusted to the process of coexsistence. In my opinion, the leaders of the world have just redefined slavery. We are slaves to banks, we are slaves to the hottest trends, and we are slaves to the love of money. I believe slavery is not about being physically trapped anymore. I believe they have my people chained mentally. White Americans are roughly 10% more wealthy than Black Americans becaused Black Americans are too focused on looking like the hottest trends, thus causing fools to kill each other over worthless materials like Jordans, drugs, and designer brand clothes. I beleive my people have one important thing a nation can have. We have desire and "fight". We have soldiers who will fight and stand up for what they believe in. The process to breaking the chain of "New Slavery" is to have our nation stand up for the right things.

Golden Eagle Staff
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow "THIS JUST IN"
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black

News

Op-Ed/Features

Student Life

Fashion/Arts

Poetry Corner

Sports

bottom of page